Body Shop Lightening and Darkening Drops

I kept seeing these pop up claiming to be the “best cream contour on the high street”, which definitely piqued my interest. They were definitely high up on my to-buy list. At £10 each, they weren’t the cheapest contour products I’ve ever bought, but if they work, then it’s definitely worth it!

IMG_1301
I’m so glad that didn’t drip.

I watched a few tutorials on YouTube, just to get a general idea (I was slightly clueless), but it seemed easy enough, so I jumped straight in. They both come in a glass bottle with a pippett, making it super easy to use and apply. Since I’d just come back off of holiday, my foundation made me look like Casper the Ghost had the flu, so this was definitely needed. It mixed well, only one drop was needed, as promised and it looked pretty natural, if not slightly ashy, but at least I looked the right sort of colour.

IMG_1315
Shows just how pale I was pre-holiday

For the highlight, I found it was very pale and cold in colour, it has more of a pink undertone than a yellow tone like my concealer. A little goes a long way, but there isn’t much of a colour change, meaning you have to choose which is the lesser of two evils, so for me, I used more product to get more of a pigment. For the contour, there is so much pigment, and a little still goes a long way, which is perfect, just the tiniest drop can do so much.

IMG_1321
I’d make a great tiger

Blending is so easy. You can blend it into almost nothing. So even if you do use a bit more of the darkening liquid than you’d hoped, with a lil bit of patience and effort, you can easily recover.

IMG_1322
Super super easy to blend!

Since these are such cold colours, they can leave you looking seriously ashy, especially after darkening your foundation like I did, so bronzer was a must for me, along with a little bit of highlighter, and then you’re good to go!

Overall I definitely prefer the darkening drops to the lightening drops as they have SO much more pigment and the colour suits me a lot more, but maybe once my tan fades I’ll need to lighten my foundation and I’ll get some more use out of it. Thank you pale gene!

IMG_1332
The full blown face!
IMG_1323
Just base makeup and then…

3 Comments Add yours

  1. beccapbeauty says:

    Gorgeous make up. I’ve been very interested to try these out. I may give them a go now!
    beccapbeauty.wordpress.com
    Xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d definitely say the darkening drops are worth it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment